Databases A to Z
- — full text available.
- — restricted to UND students, faculty, & staff.
Gale databases on a wide range of topics, with audio files of the article texts. Includes the databases Opposing Viewpoints, Contemporary Authors, Expanded Academic Search Premier, and others.
The Gale Directory Library contains current editions of the Encyclopedia of Associations: National Organizations of the U.S. and Gale Directory of Publications and Broadcast Media. The former contains information on national nonprofit organizations in the public and private sectors. The latter provides information on North American and International radio and television stations, and cable companies.
Search selected online Reference Books in Business, Environment, History, Law, Literature, Medicine, Multicultural Studies, Nations, Popular Culture, Religion and Science.
A collection of over 200 journals covering the latest scientific developments.
Worldwide literature on geography, geology, and ecology.
Technical literature on geology and geophysics since 1785.
References to recent geoscience publications which are moved weekly into GeoRef.
A comprehensive Internet resource for research and communications in the geosciences, built on a core database aggregation of peer-reviewed journals indexed, linked, and inter-operable with GeoRef.
Searches a broad range of scholarly sources. Open to the public, but off-campus users will be prompted to log in so that Google Scholar will be able to offer "Find it at UND" links allowing you to check our licensed databases for full-text copies of articles.
GovInfo allows free online access to official Federal Government publications.
Index of articles in the Grand Forks Herald. Note: this does not offer the full text of the articles. However, once you have found an article, you can get a copy from the Grand Forks Herald microfilm archive on the first floor of the library.
Scholarly, government and general-interest articles on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. Offers full text for Open Access journals, but most are citations only.
Premier online art reference sources searchable in one place: Grove Dictionary of Art, Oxford Companion to Western Art, Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and the Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms. Other features include: "images only" search; timelines of art; resources for educators; subject guides on visual art topics, and Benezit Dictionary of Artists search (we have the print set). Note: Access is limited to 3 simultaneous users. If you can't gain access, try again later.
Premier online music reference sources searchable in one place: the New Grove Dictionaries of Music and Musicians, Jazz, Opera, American Music, Musical instruments; the Norton Grove Dictionary of Women Composers, and Oxford Dictionary and Oxford Companion to Music. Other features include subject guides on music topics, timelines of music; scholarly research resources guide, and opera indexes. Note: Access is limited to 3 simultaneous users. If you can't gain access, try again later.