Databases A to Z
- — full text available.
- — restricted to UND students, faculty, & staff.
Access to historical and contemporary data regarding weather and climate. Formerly the National Climatic Data Center.
A clearinghouse for crime, justice, and law enforcement information and documents from many federal agencies supporting research, policy, and program development.
Catalog of geologic maps and related data for geology, hazards, earth resources and more.
Archival and manuscript collections in research libraries, museums, state archives, and historical societies throughout North America.
Native American Constitution and Law Digitization Project with access to constitutions, tribal codes and other legal documents, links to American Indian Tribal/Nation web sites.
Electronic versions of printed books.
Provides broad coverage of medieval Web sites across academic disciplines.
Coverage: every page of every issue since 1851 — current until last 3 years. Including news stories, editorials, photographs, maps, graphics, and advertisements. A new year’s worth of content is added annually. For coverage of the last three years, use the New York Times (1980-Current).
Indexes newspapers throughout the country, including the Grand Forks Herald and Bismarck Tribune. Site offers articles for purchase; in most cases, the same articles can be had for free in the Chester Fritz Library's archives.
Full text access to 600 U.S. newspapers, including the New York Times, the Wall Street Journal, and the Washington Post. Now searchable on our Newspapers tab.
This database includes both links to newspapers and commercial websites. It does not have an index of articles for each newspaper.
A book-length reference to the history of America in the ’90s.
Search interface from the National Library of Medicine that can be used to search MEDLINE/PubMed, OLDMEDLINE, LOCATORplus, AIDS Meetings, Health Services Research Meetings, HSRProj,MEDLINEplus and DIRLINE.
A Smithsonian Institute's National Museum of Natural History web site that can search all living mammals of North America by various means such as species names, conservation status or family tree.
NoveList is an online resource to help readers discover books in every fiction genre, juvenile through adult. In addition to book jackets and descriptions, find award winners, “best of” lists, read-alike suggestions, and book discussion guides.
Full text access to 14 National Research Council of Canada journals.
Provides access to well over 3 million government-funded scientific, technical, engineering, and business related publications covering over 350 subject areas.
Login required; consult the reference desk.
Includes documents from the Department of Energy (DOE), National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA), Defense Technical Information Center (DTIC), and NTIS. Subject areas covered: Physics (16%), Environmental Pollution and Control (13%), Nuclear Science and Technology (13%), Medicine and Biology (11%), Energy (8%), Chemistry (7%), Materials Science (7%), Natural Resources and Earth Sciences (6%), Computers and Information Theory (5%), Behavior and Society (7%) â€” includes psychology, education, law and sociology, and international relations.